Rainfall in Rajasthan

Rainfall in Rajasthan – Introduction
  • The average rainfall in Rajasthan is 58-60cm. The eastern regions of the Rajasthan receives the total 100cm annual rainfall while the western most regions of the Rajasthan receives the total 10cm annual rainfall.
  • The Rajasthan state receives the 90-91%% of total annual rainfall during the monsoon season, i.e. July to September by south-west monsoon.
  • The rest of annual rainfall comes in the post monsoon season (about 4-5%), cold weather season (about 2-3%) and in the summer season (about 3-4%).
  • The onset of south-west monsoon is witnessed by the eastern parts of the state in the last week of June or first week of July while it extends over the entire state by the mid of July.
  • The July and August are the months which receives the 80% of total rainfall of the monsoon season. The rest of the rainfall of the monsoon season is occurs in the first week of September.
  • August is the rainiest month except in the south-west part, where July is the rainiest month due to early arrival of Arabian Monsoon.
  • In the first second week of the September, the withdrawal of southwest monsoon begins from the north-west part of the state and by the mid-September, it withdraws from the entire state. In this time, the Rajasthan receives the little rainfall by this retreating monsoon.
  • During the winter season, al little amount of rainfall received by the shallow cyclonic depressions originating over the east Mediterranean Sea. This rainfall is also called ‘Mahavat’. This rainfall is very significant for agriculture.
Distribution of Rainfall in Rajasthan
  • There is a huge variation in the mean annual rainfall over the entire Rajasthan state. The extreme western parts of Jaisalmer districts receives the rainfall less than 10cm wherein the south-eastern parts of Rajasthan receives the rainfall more than 100cm, which is 10 time more of earlier.
  • The southern and south-eastern districts, Jhalawar and Banswara, receive the maximum rainfall in the state, which is about 120cm.
  • The southern and south-eastern districts Kota, Baran, Jhalawar, Baswara, Pratapgarh and Udaipur and Mount Abu region of the Rajasthan receive the rainfall more than 100cm.
  • The districts of Eastern plains i.e. Bhartpur, Dholpur, Kota, Bundi, Sawai Madhopur, North-west Udaipur, South-east Tonk and Chittorgarh receive the 60-80cm rainfall.
  • The districts of Aravalli Range i.e. Alwar, Japur, Ajmer, Pali, Jalore, Eastern parts of Nagaur and Jhunjhunu and north-west part of Tonk, Bhilwara and Sirohi receive the 40-60cm rainfall.
  • The districts, Shri Ganganagar, Hanumangarh, Churu, Southern Barmer, Eastern parts of Bikaner and Jodhpur and western parts of Pali, Jalore, Sikar, Nagaur and Jhunjhunu receive the 20-40cm rainfall.
  • The districts or western Rajasthan, Thar Desert, i.e. Jaisalmer, Hanumangarh, Eastern Barmer, Southern Shri Ganganagar and Western Bikaner and Jodhpur receive the rainfall less than 20cm.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.